Community Forum     Helping YOU do what YOU want with YOUR data.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Jono Hooper  
#1 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2021 10:14:51 AM(UTC)
Jono Hooper
Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 24

Good morning,

Are you able to change the Chemcode for phosphorus for our historically uploaded data related to our Ipswich project? Specifcially, I'm hoping to have the Chemcode Phosphorus (7723-14-0) changed to 7723-14-0(as P) for historical data before Sept 2019.

Somehow, the Chemcode of some previously imported lab reports a year ago have changed to another, resulting in two seperate graphs for Phosphorus.

Your help is much apprciated.

Support  
#2 Posted : Saturday, May 22, 2021 12:15:00 PM(UTC)
Support
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Posts: 227
Location: Ballina

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)

Hello,

Phosphorus can be reported in many forms (Phosphorus as PO4, Phosphorus as P etc..).  Each form has a different ChemCode and you may need to request the lab report the form you need to report.

If you think there is an inconsistency or incorrect ChemCode has been applied for a specific result can you do the following?

  • View the data on a ChemTable.
  • Click Result Details & Comments (https://ESdat.net/ESdat_Online_Help/data_qualifiers_and_comments.htm )
  • You will be able to see the ChemCode and the OriginalChemName for that result.  The OriginalChemName is the name the lab reported, and the ChemCode is a standardised Code for that analyte that allows data from multiple laboratories and guidelines to be compared.
  • Make a note of these & repeat for any other results you are concerned about.
  • You can check the ChemCode list in ESdat using the "Chemistry Search" button on the top of the home page, if you search for Phosphorus you will see all the different options available.
  • If you think a ChemCode has been assigned that is incorrect for the OriginalChemName can you provide both those values by reply and we'll verify or correct.

Thanks,

Alex

Jono Hooper  
#3 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2021 10:07:44 AM(UTC)
Jono Hooper
Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 24

Hi Alex, thanks for your reply. We inherited the project from Sept 2019, from which point, the lab provided results as ChemCode: 7723-14-0(As P) and Original Chem Name: Total Phosphorus as P. Prior to us winning the work, results were provided as ChemCode: 7723-14-0 and Original Chem Name: Phosphorus (Total). We had not used ESdat prior to this time, and unfortunately were unaware of these subtleties in ensuring Phosphorus Chemcodes and Chemnames remained the same. Are you able to do a bulk reassignment of the Chemcodes for all samples under the Ipswich project from Sept 2019 onwards, to 7723-14-0(As P)?
Support  
#4 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2021 10:51:44 AM(UTC)
Support
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Posts: 227
Location: Ballina

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)

Hello Jono,

It sounds like the correct ChemCodes are assigned for those two way of reporting Phosphorus?

Its not just a matter of assigning the ChemCode for "Total Phosphorus as P" to "Phosphorus (Total)".  In order to convert between the two the result also needs to be adjusted accordingly (ie to adjust for the different molecular mass).

The only resolution is to reimport either the data in the "inherited project" or the data since in the form you want it in.

Alex

Edited by user Monday, May 24, 2021 12:43:43 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.